Roasted Carrot Soup

Versão em português

Sopa de Cenouras Assadas

The carrots were very pretty at the grocery store – they had that “buy me” look. It was time to make a recipe I had pinned centuries ago. You know one of those recipes that you think it’s going to work great, but you are kinda lazy and simply don’t do it? Yep.

Well, it was silly of me to be lazy about this recipe, as it is very easy – and wonderful! This is without a doubt one of the most interesting soups I’ve ever made, proving once again that Patricia Scarpin is a genius. ❤ As usual, I’ve adapted it a little bit, because that’s just how it goes.

The recipe is vegetarian, but to veganize it all you have to do is replace the cream for a soy/rice version.

You’ll need:

1 kg carrots – peel and chop into big chunks

350 g onions – same deal

Roughly 3 Tbsp olive oil

Salt and pepper – I added paprika too

About 5 cloves of garlic, peel and all – from the famous series “things I decided to add while taking the ingredients shot”

1 tsp cumin

1.5 liters veggie stock – I used the homemade version , concentrated, and completed with water

250 mL heavy cream, or a vegan substitute

Sopa de Cenouras Assadas

Place the carrots, onions, and garlic on a baking sheet. Add the olive oil, salt, pepper, paprika, and cumin. Mix everything very well and bake in a pre-heated oven for 40 minutes, or until the carrot is tender.

Then, remove the garlic peels – it should be very easy! – and place the ingredients from the baking sheet into a blender, adding the stock to help the process. As my blender died #RIPblender, I placed everything in the pot and used my immersion blender.

When everything is nice and blended, add the cream and heat the soup until it starts to boil. Serve immediately.

FREEZER: As most soups, this recipe freezes pretty well. I just placed the cold leftovers in a Ziploc bag! When re-heating, I used the immersion blender to pulse it a little bit, so it would regain the original texture.

Leave a Reply

