Sweet Potato Dinner Rolls

Versão em português

Pãezinhos de batata doce

 

Before I decided which would be the last recipe of the Dinner Rolls Tertulias, I was stumped, reading a bunch of recipes and not finding anything that screamed “bake me!”. This lasted for a while, until I decided I’d narrow my search to vegan breads. I found this recipe, I had a sweet potato in the fridge that hadn’t made its way into the last soup we made, so it was a no-brainer!

These were the easiest rolls to knead in the entire series. I almost always use the stand mixer, but by the time I finished kneading this one, I was thinking “AFFF, I should have kneaded that by hand, it’d be one less dish to wash!” 😀 I tried a roll as soon as they came out of the oven, and loved it. Later that day, I had them with cheese and started thinking about how they’d be great as a burger bun! As usual, I froze part of the recipe. Yesterday, we thawed the rolls and used them for sliders – they were perfect!

You’ll need:

For the sponge:

2 1/4 tsp dry instant yeast

1/2 cup water, lukewarm – as in “if you can stand to keep your fingers in there for 10 seconds, it’s good”

1/2 cup all purpose flour

 

For the dough:

1 cup cooked sweet potato, mashed

2 tbsp maple syrup – I used honey, as maple syrup is a treat here! Not to be used casually!

1 1/2 tsp salt

4 1/2 Tbsp vegetable oil

1 tsp baking powder – yeah, I too thought it was weird to use both yeast and baking powder in the same recipe, but it worked! 🙂

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour – if you are making this recipe on a humid day, you may need a bit more flour. I didn’t have to add any!

Pãezinhos de batata doce

Start by making the sweet potato purée. Peel and cube a medium-size sweet potato, and boil it until soft. Then drain it, mash well, and set aside to cool.

While the sweet potato cools, make the sponge. Mix all sponge ingredients in the bowl of your stand mixer (or in a big bowl, that you’ll also use to knead!), cover with a dish cloth, and let it rest for 20 minutes or so, until it bubbles.

To the sponge, add all the dough ingredients. Knead in a stand mixer with a hook attachment (or with your hands) for 5-7 minutes, until the dough doesn’t stick to your fingers. If you’re using a stand mixer, you’ll notice that the sides of the bowl become practically clean – you’ll still have to wash it, though. 😀

Now the method is the same as for all other rolls in this series: cover the dough with plastic wrap and let it rise in a warm place for about 1 hour, or until it doubles in size. When the dough has doubled in size, gently punch it to deflate and transfer to a floured surface.

I divided my dough in 24 pieces, but you can divide it into 8 portions to make burger buns; I think this dough would be great for that! Shape the portions into balls and place them on a buttered (or simply covered with a Silpat) 9 x 13 inch baking sheet. This video shows the technique I use – it looks time-consuming, but when you get the hang of it, it’s pretty quick!

Loosely cover the pan with a plastic wrap or dish cloth (don’t use terrycloth!), and let them rise again, until they are almost doubled in size.

Now all you have to do is bake the rolls in a pre-heated oven for 20-25 minutes (add a little more oven time if you’re making burger buns), or until they are golden brown and you hear a hollow sound when you tap the surface.

Let them cool on a wire rack and serve!

FREEZER: As with all the rolls in this series, these freeze beautifully. All you have to do is put them in a Ziploc bag once they are cooled!

Leave a Reply

